Varmint Hunters Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Last weekend I had planned on hunting for weeks. The weather was just plain horrible. :(
It started raining Thursday and rained off and on till Sunday night. We had mixed sleet and bouts of strong wind.
My spirit was low because it's hard to believe you will do any good in that kind of weather. :rolleyes:
After a short pitty party I started to look for ways to make this work. With a little effort and planning
I was able to make 14 likley stands over the course of the weekend.
Not a great average but still better than a total stinker.
I managed to call in 3 coyotes and 3 bobcats.
I was only able to shoot 2 cats and a single coyote but you never get them all,
no matter what the weather is.
Both cats that I shot came into places I had expected coyotes and all three coyotes came to one stand.
I am not very good with multiples.
For me one out of three is all I ever get. :duh:
I called them all in with a J.S. 512 LR caller with remote
and the tapes used were a mixed batch of cottontail and jackrabbit.
Anyway thanks for reading.
They look kinda bad but I really did NOT drowned them
they have all been shot .....22-250 DRT.

P.S. Sorry pic is so small I don't know how to make it larger.

Attachments

·
Registered
462 Posts
Excellent!!!!

Good Job and good story, :) haven't had a day like that ever. Never shot a bobcat.:( Only seen 3 in the wild ever. It's cold and rainy here now think I may go out and try my luck. :eek:

Good Job

·
Registered
411 Posts
nice kitty cats

I am jealous I wish I had a place near me for something like that. good pic and story.

·
Registered
6,932 Posts
Whatever weather you got.....wish we had some of it; gets the critters stirring. Great Job..you can't kill'em all every time, now you get an excuse to go back again. JR

·
Registered
1,346 Posts
Way to go MO

Thats a good weekend in anyones book!