Varmint Hunters Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
all right im brand new to predator hunting and calling. to get to the point im using custom hand calls and i wanna know any tips you have on how to call and what i should and shouldnt do. thanks

·
Registered
1,681 Posts
in a nutshell....

and others may elaborate......
Go to your stand QUIETLY
Pick your stand carefully (watch downwind)
sound like a dying whatever
SIT STILL
If you see something coming in, don't move when IT ain't moving
SHOOT STRAIGHT
That's pretty well it in a nutshell......Except.....also helps if varmints are within hearing distance of your call.

Not trying to be funny, just if all don't go well, something above wasn't right.;)
By the way....you have some of the best calling area in the US, right at your doorstep in the Vernal area. Have called that area many times since early 1970's and love that part of the country. (my son killed a mtn. lion with his bow up the road about 2-3 miles from Flaming Gorge dam a few years ago and I called and shot 3 coyotes the same day in same area)

·
Registered
1,681 Posts
ok thankyou. have you ever hunted in the bookcliffs area?
Yup....3 of my friends and I drew mule deer tags there about 9 (I think) years ago. Had a blast and we all filled out with "real nice" bucks. That was the year I got my Shiloh Sharps 40-70 and the first deer taken with that rifle. I also called and shot 4-5 coyotes in that area then. The Gilroy boys from Vernal are good friends of ours and they treated us on that hunt. They hunt here in Oklahoma sometimes with us. I now have 9 preference points :eek: on elk for the Bookcliffs (and still can't draw that tag....LOL).

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
ya thats were ive been thinking of going yote hunting but i still dont know were i wanna go yet. does anybody else have any tips. o ya and how long do you usually call and then wait to call again if something doesnt come in

·