Varmint Hunters Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,246 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am putting together a new varmint rifle. Rifle is going to be an Encore, with a 6.5 X 284 barrel from Fox Ridge. I am going to have David White do a little work to it once I get the barrel. I have narrowed it down to two scopes:

1. Burris Black Diamond. 6 X 24. With their Ballistic Mil-dot reticle.

2. Leupold LR 8.5 X 25 with the Varmint Hunting Reticle.

Rifle will be used from a fixed position, and basically for groundhogs. It might take an occasional doe, and even an occasional coyote. I am familiar with the Leupold, and the Signature Select Burris, but I am new to the Black Diamond. Everything I have read about it is good. The BD is about $125 less. Resale is not an issue. Anyone have any experience? Tom.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Although not having any practical handling of many scopes I have and still do read a quite a bit on them. What stands out on the Burris scopes is the light transmission on their light indexed matched coatings and also the pricing (nicely affordable compared to comparisons with European scopes and slightly better than Leupold ). However when you really want top grade clear resolution and very nice light transmission I recommend you go the whole hog and buy a Nightforce NXS in either 5.5-22x 56 or 8-32x56.
I own a 5.5-22x 56 and have never seen a scope before that could enable me to see my .25cal bullet holes on paper targets out to 300m.
I have shot pigs under a half moon (and no other lighting)at 130m to date.
Yes Burris scopes are damn nice. but I still rate them as mid range of top grade along with leupold). I prefer spending a bit more the first time (hell even the cost of two scopes and getting somthing with a statement of lens alignment to 1x20,000th of an inch. WOW
How many blokes have you met on the range who tell you that your rifle scope gives a better image than than their spotting scope. Ive had a few.