Varmint Hunters Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK…. I am getting old, so I have a real problem focusing on open sights, and even using some 1970s vintage 3x9 scopes I have. Enter my latest acquisition: a Bushnell Elite 4200 6X24 scope. Love it! It’s mounted on a VLP Savage model 12. That adjustable objective seems to make all the difference, I can actually see what I am shooting at very clearly, and I can easily and rapidly focus from 25 yards up to 300 yards, no problem! I love the Mil dot too, even though I am still learning to use it properly (range finding).Now… I spent close to $500 on the 4200… question: Am I going to like the really high price (say, $1000 and more) scopes even better, or would I be wasting my money? I am asking because I am thinking of buying more of those AO scopes, maybe some of those high-end European scopes. By the way, I do have a BSA “Sweet 17” 6x18 scope. Not bad, and quite cheap at around $100, but I like the Bushnell Elite 4200 much better!

JLC

·
Registered
3,453 Posts
Good question. I agree with you about the quality of the Bushnell, have a couple just like it. Also, have a couple of Luepolds that retailed for nearly twice as much. Do I like them? Sure do. But are they worth twice as much to me? No. You pay a lot for a small difference and some differences many people won't be able to see.

But, like you say, we're getting old and you can't take it with you. Buy one and see if it's worth the difference.

Rick

·
Registered
1,346 Posts
Personal choice..........

You will have to try one, to see if they are worth it to you..

They are nice, and have high resale value, so you wont be risking $1200 or so dollars, if you dont like it, you can usually retreive 90% of your investment.

But whether they are "worth it" will ultimately come down to your own personal wants and needs in the end.

Glad you enjoy the Elite, they are very good scopes.

·
Registered
358 Posts