Varmint Hunters Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm getting started on a new rifle soon and need some advice from those of you that shoot a 280AI.The main purpose of this rifle is for an elk hunt to Wyoming in Oct '07 and to serve as a back up to my BLR in 308 if it will stay in the cabinet during deer season.What I am looking for is what kind of twist rate are you guys using ,what kind of bullets work best for you on elk,would also like to know OAL of your cartridges. How about barrel length?I don't want to get to long with it but still want to take advantage of the case capacity.So let me hear about it I'm sure i can come up with more ?'s.TIA

Steve

·
Registered
59 Posts
Help on 280 AI

Steve, maybe this info will help you. I have been shooting a custom built 280AI for about 20 years now and I also reload for it. The twist rate you're looking for is a 1 in 9 twist which will handle all the hunting bullet weights that you will be using. As far as the best bullets for this barrel twist, I use Barnes Triple-Shoks in 140 grain weight for whitetail, and if I were going after elk, I would step up to the 15o grainers. The load that my rifle likes is 60 grains of AA 3100 and the 140's, seated .015 off the riflng, with the Fed. 210M primer and Winchester brass. I hope this info proves useful to you.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Help on 280 AI