Varmint Hunters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good afternoon gentlemen. I have a question and need some help finding the best answers. I have a Remington 700 SPS 223. I have decided to begin customizing this rifle to the max in the hopes of one day handing a true nail driver down to my son. I've been looking at custom barrels, but I have no real knowledge of what all I would need to do. Money, really isn't an issue since I have several years before he will be ready to even handle a gun. I guess my question is, where should I begin if I want a true, long range custom 223? Any info would be helpful.

·
Registered
12,706 Posts
Good afternoon gentlemen. I have a question and need some help finding the best answers. I have a Remington 700 SPS 223. I have decided to begin customizing this rifle to the max in the hopes of one day handing a true nail driver down to my son. I've been looking at custom barrels, but I have no real knowledge of what all I would need to do. Money, really isn't an issue since I have several years before he will be ready to even handle a gun. I guess my question is, where should I begin if I want a true, long range custom 223? Any info would be helpful.
first thing true (buleprint) the action.
2.8 twist custom barrel krieger/shilen/broughton/brux...heck their all good anymore.
3.H&S stock or the like bedded of course.
4.trigger job at the lest ..a HVR jewell would be best.
5, find a RIFLE SMITH...get it done right the first time.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you! Are you familiar with E. R. Shaw custom barrels? Ive been looking them over. If you put a new barrel on the gun, does that require you to do anything to the action? The SPS has the adjustable trigger, but would you still recommend a custom trigger? Thanks for the input!

·
Registered
2,898 Posts