Varmint Hunters Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I own a Ruger Predator 243 and have the Monstrum 8-32x56 scope mounted. I want as cheap as possible rangefinder that is great at ranging prairie dogs. I will be using this rifle for coyotes, prairie dogs, pronghorn and maybe a cow elk down the road. I have the scope set for the Winchester 95 grain Ballistic Silvertip for all of the above. I do not reload and I want to stick to one round for if at all possible. I figure that commercial loads are the route I’ll go for at least the beginning years of hunting. I am in no way new to guns and hunting but I am a beginner at prairie dogs and ranging them. This is a good start. Upgrades later .

·
Registered
7,577 Posts
Bob, I don't mean to sound ugly or pry into your business, but can you tell us if you're Extremely Rich, Super Rich, or Just Plain Rich? Seriously, when you start talking one rifle for everything from PDs to elk and then say you'll need to buy commercial loads, you're gonna have to be waaaaaaaaaaaaaaay somekinda rich.

If we confine ourselves to just the rangefinder question, that's considerably easier. I'd love to tell you the cheapest rangefinder that will work well on PDs, but I have no idea. I have a Leica that I bought maybe 10 years ago and like very much. I think I paid around $400 give or take. Honestly, given what you're gonna have to spend on commercial ammo, I'd hold off on a pricey rangefinder. Most guys go several/many years PD hunting without a rangefinder. We range 'em by watching for the puff of dust and then hold up or down based on that. Honest.

·
Registered
All things Contender
33 Posts
Range finders are useless on prairie dogs. In the field you will be working low on the horizon and viewing multiple plateaus. Dust up shots are the only option. I had shots on the flat where the prairie dogs look 3 feet apart....ended up to be 30 yards.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·