Varmint Hunters Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
12,529 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Now im building one for myself over the next couple months
Now right now I'm thinking 243win
I've always loved the cal.. but kinda thinking 6.5 creedmore....or 6 credmore i have zero experience with those so ..what do you guys think?
Barrel life is not an issue.

·
Registered
12,288 Posts
Big G...don't be afraid to build a creed...
All the 1s I've seen shot shoot good. I am a 243 man myself but just
ain't had a chance to get a creed yet. Donnie

Undsrdog

·
Registered
4,149 Posts
George, I have both a 243 and the 6.5 creedmore, like them both but the 243 get way more use than the 6.5. Just like it better, really great on 'yotes!!!
Have a good time with which ever you decide!
GOD BLESS. Dean

·
Registered
4,076 Posts
I have a couple of bolt action .243 Win, and like them a lot. Make sure to try to get a faster twist barrel (like maybe a 1:8), so you can shoot longer/heavier bullets. Accuracy on my 1:10 tops out at about 95gr.

·
Registered
2,163 Posts
I would take the.243 over the 6 CM, supposedly the 6CM is super accurate, but so are all the .243's that I have built/shot in the past 30+years. On another note, if you look at all the varmint, benchrest and accuracy websites, you see a awful lot of 6CM.s for sale. I have noticed a lot of folks building them, then putting them up for sale in about 4-5 weeks.You also have a lot more proven bullets and more brass to choose from with the .243. I would take a 6XC over either one of them, most accurate 6mm I have shot, especailly at longer distances. Out to 200 you cant beat a 6ppc. Just my thoughts.

·
Registered
1,057 Posts