Varmint Hunters Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Administrator
3,249 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since we had topic on reloading components and the lack there of these days I thought someone might be interested in this. These are components I have from days gone by never to be seen again.

A partial box of Remington Primers in a wooden tray, a box of the original Remington 80gr HP Power lokt bullets, a box of 85gr Sierra Sptitzers from their original plant in Whittier, Calif. with a chance to win a Sierra Expert Rifleman Award in the box. I also have three boxes of old Alcan Fiber Wads, and I have 750 W23678 20 wads for the old All American target hulls that I gave $1.29 per bag for when I bought 2000 of them.

·
Registered
5,650 Posts
Those items sure have been around for a while.
I have never seen Primers in a wooden tray and I have been reloading since about 1963. Off and On.
There is a market for these old antique components....just ask Ken.

Reactions: mrmurl

·
Registered
4,257 Posts
I had some green boxes of Sierra bullets labeled Santa Fe Springs, CA. Used to get Winchester WSP for $7.50 per thousand back in 1992.

·
Premium Member
588 Posts
When stored proper I have no reason to believe old primers wouldn’t last as long as, wellll, KRations.

·
Registered
4,257 Posts
At a show a couple of years ago, I bought bag of .303 to shoot in my Enfield and P14. They were cheap and from the 1940's. Took one of them apart, and they were cordite strands and Berdan primed. The did go off, but were very slow to ignite, bordering on a hang fire. Don't know if it was the powder or the primer.

·
Registered
12,707 Posts
Got some hand swaged 62gr 6mm bullets by walt Berger from 1982 shot probably 300 have 200 or so left...some of the best bullets I've ever seen ...ive had nothing worthy to shoot them in years.

·
Registered
1,240 Posts
The 80 and 85 gr bullets are death on WV whitetails, I know from experience.

·
Registered
946 Posts