Varmint Hunters Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
804 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was given a bunch of brass with crimped primers in 223 a while back. Today I picked up a Lyman primer pocket prep tool that has a gizmo for removing the crimp. I've only done one so far, and find that it puts a heck of a bevel on the pocket, way more than any commercial primer pocket has. The tool was on the sale table at the local store and did not have any directions with it. I took a chance that it is intended to bottom on the pocket to give a consistent depth of cut; can anyone who uses this tool confirm if indeed correct? I compared the tools that came with it to pics from the Midway catalog and everything is there that they picture. It was easy to do, I'm just worried that I'm going too deep. Thanks for any help you can offer. Ken

·
Registered
79 Posts
If this is one of the standard Lyman primer pocket reamers you should be fine, I've been using one for 35+ years with no problems.

The way you posted about it...it seems it might have more than one tool? If you found it on Midway's website you might post a link to exactly what you are talking about.

·
Registered
804 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Good idea on the link. Here it is: http://www.midwayusa.com/eproductpage.exe/showproduct?saleitemid=394805

If you zoom in on the picture they have, it is the tool just above the inside chamfer tool. The very top tool is the cleaner tool for scraping. It seems logical that one would ream until it bottoms in the pocket for consistency of results. Not having reamed the crimped primer pockets before, I want to be sure I'm not ruining the brass. It was $10 on the sale table so I took a chance. Doesn't look like its ever been used. Thanks for your help.

·
Registered
1,294 Posts