Varmint Hunters Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
595 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know it's first a Ruger, but are they really good shooters? There is one for sale at a lofty price with a really pretty wood stock. Should I spend $1000?

·
Premium Member
123 Posts
I have no firsthand knowledge but l have wanted one for years. They generally have very pretty wood . Some are extremely figured. From what I have read some are extremely good shooters others are almost impossible to get to shoot even reasonably well. I believe this is one of those times that you pay your money, take your chance, and hope for the best.

·
Administrator
1,787 Posts
I have no firsthand knowledge but l have wanted one for years. They generally have very pretty wood . Some are extremely figured. From what I have read some are extremely good shooters others are almost impossible to get to shoot even reasonably well. I believe this is one of those times that you pay your money, take your chance, and hope for the best.
Like Tom I have always wanted one, they are a beautiful rifle, but what experience I have had was mostly second hand. With all the troubles people have had getting them to shoot I would not spend $1000.00 for one and take the chance if it would shoot or not. Of course I am a T/C person so I more likely spend my $1000. on a T/C Encore and a couple of barrels, a little measuring to get the cartridge headspace and you are good to go, and most of the wood you get on them is pretty good too.

·
Registered
5,767 Posts
Kermit would say Buy it, but this is one of the most notoriously inaccurate Ruger models. Son has one....beautiful POS. Ask W D Swift what he thinks, as he has a lot of knowledge about Rugers

·
Registered
2,434 Posts