Varmint Hunters Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,985 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a friend wanting to trade me this carbine towards a jon boat I have for sale. I have little experience with carbines, have not seen this one yet, but here is his general description of it. I no longer need the boat, but don't need a clunker gun either. TIA

"M1 carbine- General Motors-Temple Inland- with bayonet/scabbard-quite a few clips of 5/10/15- Its a decent rig- not too special, but not ragged out- just a common M1 .30cal. It should be worth $600.00 to $750.00"

·
Registered
39 Posts
Carbines have enjoyed a lot of collector interest over the last few years and values have risen dramatically. Condition and originality being of greatest importance. Determining originality is difficult for the non-expert as there were so many contractors and sub-contractors and sharing of parts that went on that it can be very confusing. You might try posting this rifles particulars over at http://battlerifles.ambackforum.com/viewforum.php?f=110 Very knowledgeable and helpful people there. I'm no expert and can't say as to value but I do know that the Civilian Marksmanship Program is about to offer something like 30K carbines for sale and it is unknown what this might do to current "collector" prices. HTH http://www.odcmp.com/Services/Rifles/index.htm

·
Registered
6,931 Posts
Bruce, I have one of the Inland Carbines; gave $50 for it many years ago; Last gun show they were in the $650 range; unless it was a Winchester these go for about a G. This one has the older Button Safety; have a newer version with the flip safety. The Inland one does Not have the bayonett lug. Can you imagine trying to Stick some one with one of these little guys????

·
Registered
446 Posts
For TOP dollar the carbine better be..