Varmint Hunters Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I would like to get something that is the power of a CCI CB cap but in a long rifle round. Who makes something that is quiet and accurate? Thanks for the info

·
Registered
8,945 Posts
Aguila may have something for you

to consider, it's called "Colibri". I believe it comes in two flavors, one for sure uses a 20 gr pill, uses priming compound for around 325 fps if I remember correctly. I think they have one either more or less powerful, the hot shot being the Super Colibri. As far as accuracy, I have no experience nor have I read anything on them - accuracy report.

If you google up Aguila, you can probably fill in the blanks.

JUst to get everyone on the same page, if it is in the CB cap family, I feel sure it will be subsonic. Whereas a lot of mfrs produce subsonic ammo which is still around 1100fps............OK, just crunched 740mph which I think is sos at sea level, but close enough if not, and that is 1085fps. A lot of std vel 22 ammo is at or under this, some are labeled sub sonic.

What sub sonic means is the projectile is not breaking the sound barrier, giving the "crack" to the report. You will still have noise that would require a suppressor to dissapate. This may be going in a different direction than what you intended so toss out what you don't need.:D

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Just wanted to get something that would not be too loud. I want to hunt squirels and not make a bunch of noise so I can get mutiple shots at few of them before they know what is going on.

·
Registered
1,307 Posts
Around here (KY) the favored subsonic stuff seems to be the RWS stuff. It's pricier than Remington's stuff, but a lot more consistent. None of the pop, pop, pop, boom, pop, pop, boom stuff. My rifles shoot the Remington stuff okay, but sometimes, it's hardly "subsonic".

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·